

Joint Statement of Members of the European Parliament supporting the International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons

We, members of the European Parliament, express concern at the dangers posed by the 16,300 nuclear weapons maintained by the nuclear weapons possessors, and by the threat of further proliferation of nuclear weapons.

We highlight the risk that these weapons could be used by accident, miscalculation or intent – especially in times of heightened conflict.

We note that any use of nuclear weapons by a State or non-State actor would cause catastrophic consequences to human health, society and the environment, and would violate international humanitarian law

We therefore welcome the decision of the United Nations to establish September 26 as the International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons.

We support the aim of the day to enhance public awareness and education about the threat posed to humanity by nuclear weapons and the necessity for their total elimination.

We urge the EU Council to discuss and adopt a sound Common Position well ahead of the 2015 nuclear Non Proliferation Treaty Review conference which aims to initiate complete nuclear disarmament.

And we encourage parliaments and parliamentarians around the world to join with civil society, the United Nations and governments to observe this day annually and to act for the achievement of a nuclear-weapon-free world.

Initiated by: **Tarja Cronberg - Finland** PNND Co-President Former MEP and Chair of the PNND European Parliament (EP) Section

Annemie Neyts-Uyttebroeck MEP - Belgium Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe Deputy-Chair PNND EP Section

Sabine Lösing MEP - Germany Confederal Group of the European United Left - Nordic Green Left

Bodil Ceballos MEP – Sweden Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance Jarosław Wałęsa MEP - Poland Group of the European People's Party Co-Chair, PNND EP Section

Ana Gomes MEP - Portugal Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats Deputy-Chair PNND EP Section

Michèle Rivasi MEP - France Vice-President of the Greens-EFA Group Endorsed by:

José Bové MEP – France Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

Kathleen van Brempt MEP - Belgium Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats

Fabio Massimo Castaldo MEP – Italy *Movimento 5 Stelle, Europe of freedom and direct democracy Group*

Karima Delli MEP – France Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

Jill Evans MEP – United Kingdom Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

Luke Ming Flanagan MEP – Ireland Confederal Group of the European United Left - Nordic Green Left

Thomas Händel MEP – Germany Confederal Group of the European United Left - Nordic Green Left

Marian Harkin MEP – Ireland Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe

Benedek Jávor MEP – Hungary Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

Fabio de Masi MEP – Germany Confederal Group of the European United Left - Nordic Green Left

Norbert Neuser MEP – Germany Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats

Piernicola Pedicini MEP - Italy *Movimento Cinque Stelle, Europe of freedom and direct democracy Group*

Marijana Petir MEP – Croatia Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats)

Georgi Pirinski MEP – Bulgaria Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats

Molly Scott-Cato MEP – United Kingdom Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

Bart Staes MEP – Belgium Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance