

Co-Presidents

Mani Shankar Aiyar MP, India Saber H Chowdhury MP, Bangladesh Senator David Coltart MP, Zimbabwe Senator Rosario Green, Mexico Hideo Hiraoka MP, Japan Bill Kidd MP, Scotland Mi-Kyung Lee MP, Republic of Korea Rep Ed Markey, United States Baroness Sue Miller, United Kingdom Marit Nybakk MP, Norway Uta Zapf MP, Germany

PNND Honorary Member

Helen Clark, New Zealand

PNND Special Representative

Senator Roméo Dallaire, Canada

PNND UN Liaison

Dennis Kucinich, United States

Council Members

Aytuğ Atıcı MP, Turkey Frieda Broepels MEP, Belgium Martin Monestel Contreras MP, Costa Rica Jeremy Corbyn MP, United Kingdom Senator Michelle Demessine, France Paul Dewar MP, Canada Abdullah Ensour MP, Jordan Paul Hutchison MP. New Zealand Harry Jenkins MP, Australia Birgitta Jónsdóttir MP, Iceland Marianne Malak Kamal MP, Egypt Roderich Kiesewetter MP, Germany Dov Khenin MP. Israel Taro Kono MP, Japan Young-ghil Kwon MP, South Korea Hallgeir Langeland MP, Norway Dirk van der Maelen MP. Belgium Christa Markwalder MP. Switzerland Federica Mogherini MP, Italy Ghassan Moukheiber MP, Lebanon Senator Tolegen Mukhamejanov, Kazakhstan Christine Muttonen MP, Austria

Christine Muttonen MP, Austria Holger Nielsen MP, Denmark Senator David Norris, Ireland Claudio Monge Pereira MP, Costa Rica Alongkorn Ponlaboot MP, Thailand Viktor Rogalev MP, Kazakhstan François De Rugys MP, France Senator Mushahid Sayed, Pakistan Senator Richard Tuheiava, France

Past Presidents

Abacca Anjain Maddison, Marshall Islands Raphael Chegeni, Tanzania Marian Hobbs, New Zealand Sergei Kolesnikov, Russia Alexa McDonough, Canada Douglas Roche, Canada

Alumni Council Members

Angelika Beer, Germany Jose Claveria de Venecia, Philippines Edine von Herold, Costa Rica Issam Makhoul, Israel Rudolph Rechsteiner, Switzerland

Ex officio members

Jonathan Granoff,

President of Global Security Institute Tadatoshi Akiba, Chair of Middle Powers Initiative Alyn Ware, PNND Global Coordinator Robert Grey,

Chair of Bipartisan Security Group

Parliamentary Partner Networks

Angelika Beer MP, Chair Parliamentarians for Conflict Prevention Christer Winbäck MP, Parliamentary Forum on Small Arms and Light Weapons October 10, 2013

Re: Encouragement to renew the mandate of the UN Open Ended Working Group

Your Excellency,

We write to thank you for your support for, and participation in, the UN Open Ended Working Group on Taking Forward Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament Negotiations (OEWG). The Chair of the OEWG will report to the current session of the UNGA, at which time the UNGA will have the opportunity to decide whether or not to renew and extend the mandate of the OEWG. We encourage you to ensure the continuation of this exciting and productive process.

After 17 years of stalemate in the Conference on Disarmament, and only limited progress in implementing NPT obligations, a fresh approach to taking forward multilateral nuclear disarmament negotiations was required. The OEWG has demonstrated that it is capable of bridging the differences and building a basis for common action. It should thus continue this important and very productive work.

Representatives of Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND) have been honoured to participate in the UN Open Ended Work – both as invited speakers and as participants in the deliberations which were open to all governments and also to representatives of international organisations and non-governmental organisations.

We were encouraged and inspired by the OEWG deliberations, and by the final report which identifies key aspects in which further deliberations and work should be undertaken in order to facilitate and support multilateral negotiations to achieve a nuclear weapon free world. A renewed mandate could thus have a more specific focus to explore these aspects more deeply.

Parliamentarians around the world strongly support the OEWG initiative. The Parliamentary Assembly of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe, for example, adopted a resolution at its 22nd Annual Session in Istanbul supporting the OEWG. All parliamentary delegations, including those from NATO countries and nuclear weapon States (France, Russia, UK and USA) supported the resolution.

Head Office

C/o Basel Peace Office Sociology Seminary Petersgraben 27 CH-4051 Basel, Switzerland +41 788 707-219 info@pnnd.org

United Nations Office

866 UN Plaza Suite 4050 New York, NY 10017 United States of America Tel: +1 646 752 8702 alyn@pnnd.org

East Asian Office

Hiromichi Umebayashi Peace Depot, 1-30-27-4-1F Hiyoshi-honcho Kohoku-ku, Yokohama, 223-0062, Japan Tel: +81 45-563-5101 cxj15621@nifty.ne.jp

Arab Coordinator Mona Makhamreh

Mona Makhamreh Al fuhies – AL Amal st P.O. Box 37, Amman Jordan 19152 Tel.: +962 79580-3022 muna@pnnd.org Central European Coordinator Jana Jedličková +420 775856879

jana@pnnd.org

The Inter Parliamentary Union at its 129th Assembly in Geneva held a special session on the achievement of a nuclear weapons free world featuring Ambassador Dengo, Chair of the OEWG, as part of its program 'Towards a nuclear weapon free world: The contribution of Parliaments.'

Parliamentarians have also participated in the Open the Door civil society video actions in many countries – see www.openthedoor2013.org – to promote the OEWG.

We look forward to continuing our engagement in a renewed OEWG to ensure the commencement and conclusion of multilateral negotiations to achieve a nuclear weapons free world.

Yours sincerely

Baroness Sue Miller

PNND Co-President

Member of the UK Delegation to the 129th IPU Assembly

Uta Zapf

PNND Co-President

Member of the German Delegation to the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly

Member of the German Delegation to the 129th IPU Assembly